Mosquito Helicopter Forums

Full Version: Info Bolt
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello, can you help me ...

I am new to Mosquito, I buy an XE285.

I have a problem, I have a screw of the main head to change ...

Problem when I look at the plans the only indication I have is: the screws are 7/16 x 5 / 2M, nut AN 7/16, washer 7/16.

I am in Europe in Belgium, unfortunately I do not measure well the Bolt AN ...

I am looking for Aircraft spruce, no way to understand ...

You know, helped me?

Thank you .

Here is the picture of the pieces  :  https://imgur.com/a/pKMDXM1

[Image: 1541277588-2018-11-02-li.png]
Hi Titta,

Welcome to the forum and to the best, nicest to fly, most fun for the $$ helicopter in the world...

According to the build manual those are 5-1/2” (5.5”) long Grade 8 SAE 7/16”-20 UNF bolts which are shortened to 5-1/8” long as described in paragraph 9.2 C) of the manual.

However, they are “commercial” quality bolts and the unthreaded bolt “grip” does not pass through all parts of the hub in accordance with normal aviation engineering practice. That’s not to say they aren’t strong enough, they obviously are quite sufficient.

The alternative, which a purist might prefer, would be AN7-51A bolts with MS21044N7 (AN365) nuts and two NAS1149F0763P (AN960-716) washers (one under the head and one under the nut).

AN7-51A is not an easy bolt to find in Europe, but SkyGeek.com have them and will happily ship by FedEx from the USA.

On paper, AN bolts have slightly lower ultimate tensile stress than SAE Grade 8 (125,000 vs 150,000 psi) but they actually have equal or higher tensile and shear strength due to their UNJF thread form and grip length, and better fatigue resistance, and more stringent inspection standards.