Mosquito Helicopter Forums
All hands occupied. - Printable Version

+- Mosquito Helicopter Forums (http://forum.mosquito-helicopter.info)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (http://forum.mosquito-helicopter.info/forumdisplay.php?fid=69)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (http://forum.mosquito-helicopter.info/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+--- Thread: All hands occupied. (/showthread.php?tid=7217)

Pages: 1 2

All hands occupied. - jb92563 - 02-15-2017

Having not flown a Heli before but being a pilot, I am wondering how Heli Pilots accomplish other tasks like changing radio frequencies while both hands and feet are occupied with the controls?

Seems like you only have two thumbs at your disposal for other tasks, and hence all the extra buttons and controls on the stick.

Other tasks being things like changing radio frequencies, taking care of an itch, wiping a bee out of your face, adjusting sun visor, staying hydrated etc

I am wondering if there are radio channel up/down control stick switches, or voice controls?

I have read about collective and throttle friction locks so you can use your left hand for short tasks.

Is that a good option for the Mosquito?

Being a Quad/drone/electronics hobbyist as well I can't help but notice that the flight controllers available would make it possible to build an affordable, light weight, collective/throttle auto pilot.

Is that a feature of the governor that I have read about on the forum? It has an altitude hold setting and can control collective and throttle to maintain the set altitude?

RE: All hands occupied. - swashplate - 02-15-2017

(02-15-2017, 03:24 PM)jb92563 Wrote: Having not flown a Heli before but being a pilot, I am wondering how Heli Pilots accomplish other tasks like changing radio frequencies while both hands and feet are occupied with the controls?

Seems like you only have two thumbs at your disposal for other tasks, and hence all the extra buttons and controls on the stick.