Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Control Authority
I'm a former USMC Helicopter mechanic......

Will the Mosquito reach it's teeter stops within flight?

I'm used to multi bladed articulated heads ....so this question may not be relavant.

Just wondering if a mast bump could occur.

James L
ANY...repeat...ANY two blade semi-rigid teetering rotor blade system can and will encounter mast bumping if the controls are mis-managed. Rapid stick movements at varying speeds and rotor loadings will create mast bumping. This is a condition to be avoided at all times, in all two blade helicopters. Low rotor RPM and rapid stick movements will create the most likely scenario. So...keep your rotor rpm in the green, high side, and make gradual and small stick movements at all times. The rotor can only precess so fast and slower RPM makes for slower precess rates. And large control stick excursions are always a no-no in a two blade lightly loaded helicopter, such as the Mosquito.
Also, on the other end of the spectrum, high speed flight, teeter stop hammering could occur when retreating blade stall occurs. The Mosquito, as all helicopters, has a VNE. Never test VNE, even in a dive. That is for test pilots. Fly Safe, Live Long Time.
Ancient Chinese Secret.
Flappingly, Mike Driggers aka emdeedee
Well alright. Helicopter 101.

Mast bump? Someone care to explain this one? Detailed or in general.
Teeter stop hammering?
VNE?

Thanks
Rick
OK.....Helicopter 101