Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
4 stroke engine.
This looks like a nice 4 stroke candidate.
New version is now claimed to deliver 93 hp, weight is 48 kg (106 lbs) included exhaust, radiator and oil tank.

http://www.d-motorusa.com/videos/
http://www.d-motor.eu/

Cant see any information about running in an upright position, .... :o

They mention in this video that it is wet sump, so does that mean it won't run upright??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSQcDntrQ...r_embedded

Richard, NZL  /// C? Test Dummy \\\  "I used to be a hang-glider pilot. Yeah, I remember that... day!"
Probably it will run in any position with modifications. A lot of early helicopter engines had dry sumps.
Rob 1

Richard I sent you a PM
Been looking at this engine for a while. They still seem to be in the relatively early stages of marketing. It would have to be modified for vertical operation for sure and the cost is not low. We'll keep an eye on it though.
Hello again!
Sorry not to introduce myself in a proper way, before posting on the forum!
I am 51 years old and I'm living in Norway. Unfortunately, I niether own or fly a helicopter,the only rating I have, is for paraglider.... Smile
Anyway, I have great interest in helicopters and gyros, and I read and study a lot. I have been following the Rotorway and Helicycle for years, Rotorways nice looking, many issues and complex driveline, Helicycle, great potensial, but very high fuel consumption for european fuel prices..
The Mosquito seems to be the best option among the kit copters, fantastic to see autos to the ground demostrated, very clean look, proven driveline and rotorsystem. Smile
If it could only be delivered with a 4 stroke engine, the popularity would increased even more!
I know that John and Dwight are hard working on this, as well as the new 2-place machine, Smile
I'll stay tuned, and wait in excitement for what's showing up! Smile

Kjell A Grimås, Norway.