Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello everyone!

Wanted to say hello and introduce myself. Name is Shawn from League City, Texas. I'm a Computer engineer by trade and for the last 20 years been building and flying R/C planes and helicopters. I'm a "very long" time student pilot in Fixed wing aircraft, with about 60 hours of time over the course of life. Yea, I know I should be a pilot by now ( Life always finds a way to get in the way) Sad , lord knows I spent enough trying to get there. I'm ready to go at it again, though for my helicopter rating.
Anyway, I also have and 1 hour of helo time in a Hughes 269. To be honest, of all the flying I have done this 1 hour is the most memorable and most fun experience I have ever had! So, while recently surfing the web I came across the Mosquito. Wow! this is so cool.... For the amount of money I have invested in R/C aircraft (1-3k each) I could have owned one of these already. So, I have watched videos, read forums, and this seems like a very affordable option for someone who wants a personnel helicopter they can fly, maintain, transport, and store. I'm interested in the XE3. For cost reasons and availability. Turbine would be awesome, but not within my reach I don't think. So, here comes the one question on my mind I have to ask.
I have not flown in about 6 years and all my knowledge is rusty. Based on the specs of the XE3 -- Useful payload is 290lbs. Is that with or with out fuel? I'm guessing without, and hoping with. Reason is I'm not a small guy. I'm about 6'2" and at the moment too heavy @ 290ish, even for a R-22. I will get down to at least 250 or more I hope, but I have to consider reasonable ability to do so. If at 240-250 is this a viable option for me? Or am I just dreaming again? Then in the heli world, if your weight is right at the cusp of the rated limits, am I asking for trouble in the machines ability to fly well?