Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My New to me XEL
I am the new owner of the american flag painted XEL serial #1004. I brought her home 9 days ago and have been doing some minor work on her as well as flight testing. After 9 days of ground work I got her in the air yesterday for the first time. I am a low time rotor pilot (25 hours of r22 training). So I'm taking it slow and easy.
This is my first experience in any helicopter other than an r22, my first experience without a governor and my first solo. Despite all that I would say that my experience so far has been very good, feels safe and manageable.
The hardest thing seems to be throttle control, I notice that I am reducing the power unless I pay attention to the gauges more that I probably should be so low to the ground. I'm certain I'll get over this as I practice more but I'm surprised how much focus it takes not to roll off the throttle.
I am continuing my flight lessons and should be ready for my Rotor add-on soon (I am a fixed wing pilot)
Look forward to getting to know the Mosquito community better as time goes on. I live is south florida and would be happy to hook up with any mosquito owners down here
Welcome aboard Richard! I too am a fixed wing pilot but have always wanted to fly helis. Slow and easy is the only way to do it. I know you will love your bird. There are a bunch of great guys here on the forum and a lot of help and information. Living in Fla, you are closer to the factor than I am and there are a lot of Mosquito owners around the area. 

Have fun and fly safe!

Michael
XE 285  1205 (Myrtle)
Start: 8/1/2013
Finish: 5/24/2014
Arrived home: 10/11/2014