Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New member seeks info.
I've been looking at the Mosquito and reading the posts here and am interested in building one.
I'm a fixed wing private pilot with about 2000 hrs. But haven't been active in the last 8 years. Recently retired. My last airplane was an RV-6 that I build.
I like the idea of an ultralight version possibly the Air. I flew ultralights in the 80's.

A few questions.
About how many of them are currently flying?
Does anybody know of any near Sacramento, CA?
How many hour does it typically take to build one?
Are there any dealers on the west coast?
Do they get flown a lot? What would be considered high time in the current Mosquito fleet?
What price range might I be looking at for a used one?
As far as used ones are there any things I should avoid? For example, engines that didn't work out so well.
Are there any other forum with good info on the Mosquitoes.
I can't answer any of your questions but the last one. This IS, by far, the best place to obtain any and all information about the line of Mosquito helicopters.

As for me, I am going with the XEL. That is the model suggested to me by Dwight because I am a zero time heli pilot. Talk to Dwight about the specifics and whY he recommended the XE/XEL.

Robert.
From the Mid-Atlantic East Coast.....
There's no sensation to compare to this,
suspended animation, a state of bliss.
(Learning to Fly - Pink Floyd)
Hmm. Over 90 view and four days and still no answers to any of my questions.
Except "This IS, by far, the best place to obtain any and all information about the line of Mosquito helicopters."
Wow. Very discouraging.
(01-16-2017, 06:34 PM)akabud Wrote: Hmm. Over 90 view and four days and still no answers to any of my questions.
Except "This IS, by far, the best place to obtain any and all information about the line of Mosquito helicopters."
Wow. Very discouraging.

I am not the most qualified to answer but anyway let's try to give you some answers...