Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
build time
I'm new to this so bear with me. I'd love to go to the fly in this weekend (April 1-2 2017) in Florida to talk to mosquito owners but I just found out about it yesterday. I've owned a Robinson R22 a few years ago. I'm a commercial helicopter pilot. I sold it and am retired now but still want to fly helicopters. From what I've seen this Mosquito has been around for over 10 year and it seems to have over 300 units out there. I've seen the BD aircraft come and go, the Mini 500 come and go too. But since this company is still in business I'd feel ok buying and building one of these helicopters. I've noticed the built price cost about $10,000 more than the kit. I see that the painting is about $4,000 of that. So I'm guessing the rest of the build is about $6,000. It would be nice if there were videos showing every step of the build but what I'm most concerned about is "how much time does it realistically take (hours) to build one of these things?" Also is there a time and hour rating on the components like the Robinson R22? that is 12 years or 2200 hours , what ever comes first. That 's why I had to sell the Robinson. I had a year left of the 12 year time limit with 1200 hours left on the helicopter. The overhaul would have cost over $100,000.  Any information from owners who have already built one would be a great help. I"m going to make the fly-in in Florida next year. thanks.   Smile
Hi, pity you'll miss the flyin but that's not the only time you can visit the factory...
Build price varies slightly on which model you settle on and what options you'd like to include.
Apart form the belts, our part life has no calendar life on operational hours. Unlike a R22 the TBO kit cost is currently around the $5k mark!